Kitchen Disasters

Yesterday’s photo from The Frugal Girl brought back such a fun memory.

It was about 2 years ago. My daughter, known around here as Monkey, was helping me in the kitchen. She added a bunch of flour to the mixer, and then turned it on high. Very high.

You can guess what happened. Suddenly, there was flour everywhere. Not only were the floor and countertop covered with a fine dusting, there was flour inside the container for kitchen utensils, in every crevasse of the stove, and basically everywhere else, too.

Monkey’s eyes got very large. Her expression told me that she was expecting to get yelled at, and was trying not to cry.  She was covered, completely covered with flour, and looked like the creature from the white lagoon.

I couldn’t help it. I started to laugh.

And that got us started telling kitchen disaster stories.

Like, the time my grandmother’s pressure cooker broke a gasket, and the chicken soup she was making turned into a geyser. As it spread across the ceiling, it seemed to be raining chicken soup in the kitchen. Oy.

Or, the time my grandfather, visiting us when I was young, decided to soften some orange juice concentrate in the blender. (It sounds odd, but it was a common practice in my house. It makes deliciously frothy OJ, and it’s a lot cheaper than not-from-concentrate cartons.) He accidentally left a metal spoon in the blender. As soon as he turned it on, it broke, sending fine pieces of glass along with sticky orange juice everywhere.

Monkey and I laughed and laughed while we cleaned the kitchen that day. And I think it helped her to realize that sometimes accidents happen. There’s no reason to get upset. Just grab a sponge and start cleaning. 🙂

What’s your favorite kitchen mishap story? Please share it in the comments section below.

This entry was posted in Baking, Happiness Project, Kids and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kitchen Disasters

  1. Yvette says:

    Great kitchen stories! lol….x

  2. Shira Adatto says:

    What a treasure this blog will be for your children as they grow up.

  3. Laura says:

    Oh, I can so picture the whole flour story, including your daughter’s expression – very cute!

    On the day of our son’s second birthday party, about half an hour before guests were supposed to arrive, I found him out on the front porch along with a pile of wet, sticky Bisquik. He had emptied the whole box on the porch, and added water from his cup. I asked him what he was doing and he answered, “Make pancakes!” Thankfully I had the good sense to grab the camera and take a picture – what a memory. Then I hosed off the porch, cleaned him up and changed his clothes and greeted our guests.

    Worst kitchen cleanup though came from mixing a jar of fresh ranch dressing in a canning jar. I was just finishing up when a small hole broke out in the bottom third of the jar, about as big around as a finger. The pressure from the upper part of the jar had that oily dressing squirting everywhere, especially since I kept turning the jar around and around to find out what had happened. It took a l-o-n-g time to clean it up because the dressing got into and between all sorts of places around our kitchen. My husband said watching me react to that squirting jar though was one of the funniest things he’d ever seen.

  4. Pingback: What’s your biggest kitchen disaster? | 1 Sentence Diary

  5. psmflowerlady/Tammy says:

    One time the sprayer came off the spray hose on the kitchen sink and was shooting all over the kitchen. My Grandpa who was using at the time, didn’t think to turn the water off but kept trying to cover up the end of the hose. One time a springform pan came unsprung while baking a cake – that was not only a mess but stinky too.
    Loved your stories – especially the flour one. Glad you’re the kind of mom who laughs and your daughter will have a great memory.

Leave a comment